La Luz Trail-run Next Week.

Here it is folks, the ABQ run of the Summer: the La Luz Trail Run. It might be the iconic race for ABQ but honestly it’s just such a fun and pretty run. It is also exhausting and pretty much straight up a mountain.*

*I know it’s not straight up, there are switchbacks but it feels like it’s straight up. I mean you gain about 1000′ elevation in just the first two miles on the road and then there are the stairs AFTER you run eight miles up a mountain.

IMG_2291
I might actually hate these things.

The damage is done now. Race day is a week from today. I’ve been running 40 or more miles per week for the last five weeks and it feels really good. Last year at this time my mileage was really inconsistent. So we’ll see what benefits that reaps.

Yesterday I ran my final training run up La Luz. I did and up and down from the trail-head to the peak. 15 miles round trip. It doesn’t include the road on which the first two miles of the race take place but I have also been running up and down the Road specifically for a number of weeks (not as consistent as I’d like but hey!).

I’m shooting for faster than last year (2:17) and I’d honestly like to break 2 hrs but any finish will be worth it. I will not be running with my camera (pronounced: smartphone) so I took the time on this last up-down to snap a few from my favorite spots on the trail and the Crest. Enjoy!

IMG_0022
Sleepy ABQ below

IMG_9234

IMG_4785
Heading up there…

IMG_5834

IMG_9642
Just before the Rock Slide…

IMG_2878

IMG_4979
Bear in mind this is at 10k elevation. Who has horses up here?

IMG_2293

IMG_2296
You can see the Tram tower in there. It’s blue.

I was going to take an after selfie but I forgot. I’m sure I was a sweaty mess anyway.

Thanks for reading folks. Wish me luck next week! Recap/update to follow.

Get out there and enjoy the world!

2 thoughts on “La Luz Trail-run Next Week.

Leave a Reply

