Holiday Weekend Starts Outside

Happy Weekend everyone. Just a quick update to say this Fourth of July we are sticking close to home and relaxing as much as possible.

You runners know what relaxing means right? Getting outside and getting the miles in. I enjoy my running solo more often than not, but it can get lonely sometimes, be sure to bring a friend.

giphy

Along those lines: Animal had mentioned to me recently that she wanted to go hiking like we had a few times before. I was a bit surprised at this as she is twelve now and not likely to want to have anything to do with her boring stinky old dad.

Yesterday am instead of heading out the door in the am I asked her if she wanted to hike and off we went! Of course we left a note for Sweetums and Lisa.

IMG_9097

We took a short but fun route up to a nearby rock formation I’m fond of. Pretty level at first but it gets steep on the way up.

 

IMG_2534IMG_8110

She took a breather at the top to meditate so I naturally took a Christ-like picture. Because I could.

IMG_3285IMG_9629

IMG_5689
She pointed out this nearby rock formation looks like someone mooning us.

On the way home we made a new friend!

IMG_7531IMG_4211

We returned home unbitten but with a few surprise cactus needles in us. Breakfast and then off to the rest of the day. Not a bad way to start a holiday weekend.

I did get out there to prance around the foothills on my own yesterday and today. It feels like a reward to get some sun on my back after running in the dark every morning before work.

tenor

2 thoughts on “Holiday Weekend Starts Outside

Leave a Reply

