I’m still Running

I’ve been a bit silent on my running habit lately. I think. Well even if I haven’t here comes a quick update on that.

Back in April I completed the Cedro Peak 50k as I previously mentioned. That was my last official race and I don’t have anything on the books until La Luz in August. So I’m just running my daily schedule.

Work held a company 5k at the end of May. Not many of the engineers decided to come out but it was fun. Good weather and a fast flat course. Same as last time. This time however I was the winner. I finished in 20:56 which is about 20 seconds faster than last time. I even sprinted at the end. It was fun.

My Mile

If you haven’t seen it yet Strava is holding a Mile PR event for June. #mymile they are calling it. Just run a mile and do what you can. Might even win some shoes.

I figured I’d give it a shot because I run every damn day anyway (not Mondays though, those are rest days). So last Wednesday I booked it during the last of my mile intervals. According to the Garmin on my wrist I achieved a PR of 6:12. Strava doesn’t account for the 1 min rests after each of the four intervals so I looks like I’m a bit slower.

Anyway I’m pretty happy with that. I’ll try again next Wednesday.

Todays Run

Holy shit I can ramble. The whole reason I hopped on here was to make a quick blup about today’s run because I had such fun. I’m adding up the miles and the elevation in prep for La Luz. Last week that meant 11 Miles round trip up La Luz Trail itself.

Today I ran out my front door and up Bear Canyon and Embudito Trail. Just beautiful. Hot and lots of up but beautiful.

IMG_0292
View down the canyon/arroyo from the bench.
IMG_4443
Who put this bench up here?
IMG_9260
That’s where I’m going.
IMG_8720
Turn around point.
IMG_6908
Cholla cactus blooming.

 

It was fun. It was hot and horrid but such fun and so much beauty to experience. Oh and I think every cicada in ABQ is alive and buzzing up the canyon. They were so LOUD you could have heard them through your earbuds. Glorious.

I pray you get out and enjoy that which fills your bucket.

4 thoughts on “I’m still Running

    1. Hard to stay cool down here right now, but at least in NM it’s dry.

      Next race is 9 mi La Luz Trail run then 50 Mt. Taylor and 53 Mi Deadman Peaks. Sounds like a lot but they are well spaced.

      Thanks for swinging by! I’ve been thinking about where you had wandered off to.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

