Time for a Little Slow Down…

It’s been a while since I last posted. It seems ages and ages actually. Mostly that is just because it’s been a looooooong couple of weeks.

It all started off well. The local Children’s Classes had a little gathering to celebrate restarting after the holiday break. Sledding and hot chocolate and prayers for all!

img_1374img_1376img_1377img_1378

The snow didn’t last long. It never does here in ABQ.

I had a number of excellent trail runs. Some foggy and rainy weather made for a nice diversion from all that damn sunshine. I even spotted a few animal friends along the way. The roadrunner has been around for a while but the bobcats in the arroyo are new. They are a bit shy for pics and the one time I got close enough I didn’t bring my camera.

img_1406img_1407img_1428

There was a pleasant snowfall yesterday morning though and Lisa and I got out for a frosty hike.img_1434img_1435

That’s all the pleasant stuff. Mostly I’ve spent the last couple weeks dealing with a bad tooth. #3 (upper right molar 2nd from back) had a root canal that has failed. It hit me hard with pain two weeks ago. Emergency dentist visit sent me to the Endodontist for $180 CT scan of my face. Result:I’m still pretty but my tooth needs to go.

A round of antibiotics killed the abscess and the pain and bought me some time to get to the Oral Surgeon. I went in on Thursday and had the tooth pulled. He had to work at it a little bit as the tooth was ankylosed (fused) to my jaw bone but muscle won the day and out came the tooth.

Fun fact: akylosaurus is a dinosaur with a fused bony club at the end of it’s tail. Also not my favorite dinosaur.

img_1431
The remnants of my tooth. Top left is the HUGE root!

The bleeding didn’t last long and I was able to eat scrambled eggs for dinner. However I dislodged the clot that was there and started bleeding again. And this time…

It didn’t stop. All night it didn’t stop. I applied pressure with gauze. Then I ran out of gauze and used cotton balls. Then those ran out and I used tampons.

img_8948

I had a giant clot clinging to the side of my mouth like green slime (dnd reference there). Technically it’s called a liver clot and basically it just keeps growing in size because the bleeding isn’t actually stopped.

I slept for about 1.5 hrs before I woke up and spit out this giant red slug like Will Byershttps3a2f2fblueprint-api-production-s3-amazonaws-com2fuploads2fcard2fimage2f1964572fslug from Stranger Things. After that I just stayed up. I made my way to the couch and finished reading The Man in the High Castle by Philip K. Dick. I liked it but I wasn’t as blown away by it as I was Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep. Honestly I think it was over my head for a single read through and I need to go through again. Lots of layers there of things that don’t make sense in my brain. Don’t get me wrong Androids was heavily layered but I think I’m hard-wired for fantasy and Sci-Fi so less difficulty there.

I went back to the oral surgeon in the morning and after lidocaine with epi and some more packing, the bleeding stopped and has not restarted. I went home, called in to work and went to bed.

I woke up having had the horrible dream that I had terrible tooth pain and that Donald Trump had just become President of the United States. Oh how sad I was upon waking. Thankfully the tooth pain has ended.

A Beautiful Game

To end on a happy note though: I got my kickstarter copy of Tak from Cheapass Games. Tak is a game described in the Kingkiller books by Patrick Rothfuss. It wasn’t real but now it is and it’s awesome. If you haven’t read the books yet: What the Fuck?!?! Go read them now. Even so you will enjoy the game. It’s simple to learn but probably impossible to master.

Animal and I sat down together to learn how to play. Though we both picked it up in a few minutes, with every new game we learned just how deep and complex this game is. Complexities and strategies emerged. It is the new chess. Needless to say we had a blast playing and continued to play all this weekend.

img_1436img_1437

I pray you all have been happy and healthy and that you brush and floss regularly.

What are your favorite boardgames?

 

4 thoughts on “Time for a Little Slow Down…

  1. I’m dying at that photo of you with the tampon. HAHA. I also was extremely enthralled by the teeth and the root, my gross geeky side has a love for all things teeth. Once upon a time I wanted to go into the dental field. This post was all too familiar of my oral surgery woes last year, but mine went pretty smooth. Hope you’re continuing to heal! Love the mountain photos.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I wish I’d gotten a photo of the actual clot but alas! I was sleepy. Anyway yeah gross but not too bad for a nurse. I’ve had my hands IN people.

      Why no dental field for you missy?

      Like

      1. Just wasn’t the right path for me. Worked towards it for about five years, didn’t come to fruition, and didn’t want it bad enough to keep going. I’m happy with the decision, although teeth still fascinate me. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

