New Gear

I guess I’m all set for the summer. I have all the gear I need for a summer of running. Well almost. My Cylon battlestar-galactica-cyloncybernetic upgrades have not come yet but, let’s be honest they have to come from a long way away.

Seriously Cylons are pretty kick-ass (and sexy. Just saying it’s probably about time I go back and watch Battlestar Galactica again. I know there’s new meaning and understandings I could find with a renewed watching.

 

Running Tech

In even more seriousness I did go about completing a snatch-and-grab for running gear so that I’m likely set for the summer and beyond.

I already mentioned my new shoes, the Salomon Speedcross 3. I had initially grabbed them from REI but The Next Day (2013 Bowie Album title btw) I found them for approx $40 due to a sale at Backcountry.com. How can you go wrong with a Goat for a symbol? Anyway I am also a member at ActiveJunky.com a site where you join for free, use them as a gateway to shop at stores where you will shop anyway and you get cash back.

So by going though Active Junky I was able to not only get the same shoes I had gotten at REI, (but for less and a sexier color than grey) but I also a new headlamp (Black Diamond Cosmo) all for less than I paid at REI PLUS I’ll get about $8 cash back. Who has two thumbs and shops smart? This guy.

shop-smart-shops-mart-t-shirt-logo
Boom-stick sold separately.

This allowed me to move forward and pickup my Garmin Forerunner 235 a bit sooner than planned. Yes, a fancy-pants GPS watch that tells me to move when I’m being lazy, shows me my heart-rate and exercise zones and tracks my sleep patterns. It is obviously smarter than I am.

I’m having a lot of fun with it despite not really getting out to see what it can tell me on a long run. The Fast is not over yet and I’m staying under 20 miles a week until this week ends, so no longer than 4 miles at a time.

https://connect.garmin.com/activity/embed/1083278998

Seriously though it’s fun to watch my heart rate.

photo
Any more relaxed and I’d be dead.

It seamlessly integrates with Strava so all my runs (and bike commutes) upload to Strava with no action on my part beyond the initial set up. It could even talk to my phone and push notifications and texts to my watch, but alas! My phone is too old and dumb.  Maybe I’ll get a new phone in the next few months, we’re talking about making changes so Animal can have a cell phone soon.

Yikes, my oldest child is old enough for a cell phone…for safety but still.

And now for something completely different…

Not really all that different. I signed up for a race. My first official marathon distance race. The Valles Caldera Trail Marathon. The Caldera is the remnant of a huge-mega-volcano that used to be here. I haven’t been into it yet but my God the pictures are crazy beautiful.

I was debating between running this race and serving as Medical for the Cedro Peak 45 miler. This won this year, but I’m still hoping to assist with Cedro somehow, probably course marking prior to race day.

Lisa is also excited about going into the Caldera. It is such a beautiful place that is so close to us (NM has a ton of natural beauty within a few hours). Also this is a marathon and not an ultra so she doesn’t have to wait all day for me and when I’m done we can still sight see a bit.

gedc2455

Our plan is to visit the cabin that serves as home to Walt Longmire in the Netflix western-crime drama of the same name. His cabin and the views from his place are all filmed in the Caldera. *Note: all of Longmire is filmed in New Mexico not Wyoming. It is New Mexico that is that pretty.*

Enjoy your week folks. Any runs in the works?

What running tech do you utilize and did you ever expect to use it? How has it changed your running?

Longmire and Battlestar Galactica: Both with Katee Sackhoff. Coincidence? Doubtful.

6 thoughts on “New Gear

  1. Congrats on signing up for the race! Making a weekend out of it is always a fun time. YOUR NEW WATCH IS gorgeous, I’ve been lusting over that one myself. I just got my REI dividend so naturally I’ve been online shopping for dayysss. I don’t NEED a new Garmin since I found mine…but…but..I want one. I want one that’s more of a multi sport activity tracker.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love new tech-gadgets!!! 🙂 Even when I get a new phone, I get so dang excited, even though it’s LEGIT THE SAME THING AS THE OLD VERISON with like ONE new non-viewable to the eye feature! HA HA! I used to wear a pedometer ALL THE TIME and loved that thing. But then I kinda went nuts with it – lets those numbers CONTROL ME. So… I ditched it. Ohhh well! I won’t ever ditch my phone though!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. LMFAO! I SLEPT WITH MY PHONE FOR A FEW WEEKS because I downloaded this app that said it would track my sleep quality too… And apparently whenever I feel like I am WELL RESTED… It looks like I barely sleep at all. FUCK THAT SHIT. My phone ain’t allowed in the best anymore – LOL!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

