Climbing to the Light.

As I mentioned last time, Lisa and I took the opportunity provided by Columbus Day (not something I celebrate but as a government employee I get the day off!) to hike up the La Luz trail while the girls were both in school.

Shadowy smile at the start.
Shadowy smile at the start.
That's where we are heading.
That’s where we are heading.

It is really a beautiful climb, but it is a climb. From the start it goes up. Repeatedly Lisa asked “Which way do we go?” to which I eternally responded “Up.” She got tired of hearing it but it remained true the entire time.

Constant climb
Constant climb
Superhero pose.
Superhero pose.

It takes about 4 hrs to make the climb, or so I have heard. The constant up is wearing and it could be easy to stare at your feet and miss the beauty that surrounds you. In some cases you have to watch you step:

A little stutter step on the boulder field.
A little stutter step on the boulder field.

But if you lift your head and look at what you are surrounded you will find this:IMG_1185IMG_1180

This denizen of the Sandias was a little nervous that the trail passed so close to home. We took a quick peek and moved along.IMG_1189Well 3 hrs and 50 minutes and we made it to the top. Not nearly out of breath as I should have been (I guess all that running at altitude pays off) I would have happily trekked the trails at the peak and perhaps visited the Kiwanis Cabin.

Smiles at the top.
Smiles at the top.
Slow trek to the tram.
Slow trek to the tram.

Lisa would have as well but reality is that we have kids and sometimes kids are and end to fun. We had to get back down to the house before the kids were let out of school. A quick ride down the tram and a cab ride back to the car (had we more time we could have hiked the 3 miles back to the trailhead) and we had time to pick the girls up from school and have a nice quiet evening.

In other news I’m writing up a report for Deadman Peaks (obviously I survived) and I’m working on a write-up of what I said at the Speaker Meeting. I had recorded it with the Memo feature on my phone but I deleted it instead of saving it. I think I can remember my own story but we’ll see how it comes out a second time.

In the meantime, get outdoors and enjoy this beautiful fall weather. Drop me a line and let me know your favorite places to hike, run or just be outside.

Leave a Reply

