Wouldn’t you like to ride in my beautiful balloon?

OK that only works if you sing it like StrongBad.

Big weekend for us here. Balloon Fiesta is finishing up today and tomorrow, I am speaking tonight at a Speaker Meeting and Monday (three day weekend though I don’t really think Columbus Day has merit) Lisa and I are hiking up La Luz Trail.

I’m nervous but ….. not nervous (?) about speaking tonight. I am quite good at public speaking (thank you Speech and plays in High School or directly Ms. Leyendecker and Grif), so that is not my angst. I have not told my story in public before. I have barely told my story in full as I know it and I am still unraveling it. Not metaphorically mind you but literally there are things about me and my past I have just discovered and big chunks that I simply do not know. More on this another time.

Old La Luz Trail to The Five Map
Pulled this from https://ondafringe.wordpress.com/

Lisa and I are heading up La Luz for the second time. First time we hiked up a couple miles, followed a ridgelind through the snow and then went back home. Baby-sitters are expensive so we kept it short.

This time though the girls are still in school so we have approx 5-6 hrs. Enough time to hike up the trail and ride the tram down and get back to our car and back home maaaaybe before the girls get home from school. Great fun. I’ve run up it twice but never hiked it and Lisa has never gone up so we are both greatly anticipating beautiful views and fun.

Balloon Fiesta!

Glowing before dawn.
Glowing before dawn.
Sunrise salute.
Sunrise salute.

After a beautiful  Colors ceremony the Balloon Fiesta was off. It is such a magical feeling to be in amongst the balloons. Seriously you get to walk in and around right as they set up and launch. I believe ABQ is the only place this happens though I may be wrong. We get to do this due to an impeccable safety record. We dressed  up for the cold (51º is cold for ABQ), I had my requisite Red Cap though no speedo today (still looking for the Life Aquatic speedos, if you know where to get one please inform me).

Balloons behind.
Balloons behind.
Looking at.....something.
Looking at…..something.

This was the first year an a few years that we had no guests. It was refreshing and relaxing to be responsible only for ourselves. We love having company and this is an event that deserves attending but we love us too and some quality family time is always awesome.

The press of the crowd was a little much though. I don’t know if it was different this year but I certainly felt more annoyance at the people looking up at beautiful sights and still moving, forward or backward and potentially trampling us and our stuff parked on the picnic blanket. Pay attention to your surroundings people! If only I were a pickpocket…

One donut of many.
One donut of many.
Breakfast burrito with Sausage and red chile!
Breakfast burrito with Sausage and red chile!

We bring our own coffee and hot chocolate but of course we buy breakfast burritos and donuts. Red chile, Green chile sausage and bacon! Yum. We buy a half-dozen Krispy-Kreme glazed. Sweetums (child #2) eats most of them. Seriously she ate 4 of the 6. That kid can eat donuts. Papa Rich is so proud.

We had so much fun. I hope that you get a chance to check it out sometime. It is a beautiful event that really inspires an awe of flight. Magical passive peaceful flight without engines or noise. Just fire.

I pray you have a calm and peaceful weekend. Let me know what you are up to. Have you ever been up in a balloon?

Coffee and a smile.
Coffee and a smile.
Up up and away.
Up up and away.
Leave a Reply

