In which I admit I am slow and delay writing.

OK, it’s been awhile since my last post. Longer than intended of course. But I have been at work and the girls school is busy and all these Children’s Classes….blah blah blah excuse. Truth is I made other things a priority over sitting my ass down and writing. I even have ideas. Thoughts I want to say. There is a pending post that I have had sitting for a couple months. No is it not that amazingly awesome. I have not given it the time it deserves. It does however keep coming back up in my daily life. It has a relevance that seems to grow with time. I better get back at it.

Until then. What is happening in my world?

I may have mentioned I have signed up for the Deadman Peaks Ultra Marathon. It is coming up in October and I’m very excited to have my feet hit the CDT again. I tried running it in Vibram Five Fingers (VFF)last year and sadly the course beat me. I limped into the last aid station with only 9 more miles to go to complete the 53 miles. I realize it sounds like I blame the VFF and I have let them take the heat but I think I was tired and hurting and I just stopped. VFF’s are not really appropriate shoes for that kind of distance and terrain and I’m happy to stop trying to prove something and run the race.

In the meantime I have been running intermittently with a buddy and we have signed up for a nearby 10K for fun.  Right here in the shadows of the Sandias and I love these foothills. Trial run of the course this am led to an inadvertent shortcut (5 miles not 6) but overall it is a runnable course with a bit of up and down. I’ll have to get back out and actually run as much of it as I can find. I’m convinced that the map I drew based on the route listed at mapmyrun had nothing to do with out detour.  Evidence below.

What could possibly go wrong?
What could possibly go wrong?

Previously, Mike and I had run half of the Piedra Lisa trail together and then I returned and finished it the next week. Well, nearly. After a beautiful run up and down the trail I turned my right ankle about a half mile from the northern trail-head and my turn-around point. I tried walking forward to the trail-head (obstinately) and decided that was a bad idea. I quickly texted my wife (also Lisa) to let her know about the delay (no service) and turned around and ran back up the trail and to my car at the southern trail-head.

View from the end of the ridge on Piedra Lisa.
View from the end of the ridge on Piedra Lisa.
photo 1
Looking down on ABQ
Still smiling after twisting my ankle.
Still smiling after twisting my ankle.
Maybe this is why.
Maybe this is why.

Overall my time was not much worse than it would have been uninjured. Am I normally that slow or do I run quickly while injured? Regardless I have been babying the right ankle all week, which is tough. I finally ran on Friday when my younger daughter and I had a small date while Lisa took our oldest child rock-climbing. We ran up to a park and played in the sand and on the swings and enjoyed a beautiful ABQ sunset.

Date at the park!
Date at the park!
Sunset colors.
Sunset colors.

So I have been doing a thing or two. Perhaps not all that I want to do like write on this blog regularly but it has been some stuff on my lists.  Perhaps I’ll have to make a schedule for blogging? Perhaps then I will be consistent?  Maybe more so but honestly stuff like this will always distract me.

And I thought it was Satan or even lice.
And I thought it was Satan or even lice.
Old School metal Tubex!
Old School metal Tubex!

How do you keep on track? Do you keep on track?  Really?  That’s…that’s pretty awesome.

Leave a Reply

